MARLIN MUNICIPAL COURT OF RECORD – COURTESY LETTER
E-Mail: MunicipalCourtClerk@marlintx.net Pay Online at www.marlintx.net
Walk-in Hours: Monday-Friday 9:00am-4:30pm Closed 12p-1p for Lunch
*NO CASH OR NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED*
MONEY ORDERS, CASHIERS CHECKS or CREDIT / DEBIT CARDS ONLY(5% service fee applies)
YOU MAY BE ABLE TO DISCHARGE A FINANCIAL OBLIGATION THROUGH ALTERNATIVE MEANS IF THE COURT FINDS THAT YOU HAVE THE INABILITY TO PAY YOUR OBLIGATIONS
- This letter is furnished as a courtesy to assist you in disposing of the charge(s) filed against you. The Judge cannot discuss the merits of a pending judicial proceeding outside of court.
- YOU MUST ENTER AN APPEARANCE on or before the date shown on your citation. An appearance in court is only by filing the proper documents with the court by certified mail, fax, email, in person, or by your attorney. If you fail to respond to the charge(s) by your court date shown on your ticket, additional fees and charge(s) may be filed against you for failure to appear and warrant(s) issued for your arrest. A juvenile who fails to appear by the time and date on the citation may have their license suspended as required by law.
- If You Wish To Enter A Plea Of Guilty Or Nolo Contendere, please properly complete and return the reply form provided on or before your appearance date. A plea of Nolo Contendere means that you do not contest the state’s charge(s) against you. The required payment for a Nolo Contendere plea is the same as that for a plea of Guilty. Either plea indicates that you agree to waive appearance before the Court for trial. Please refer to the payment schedule shown below to determine the total amount of the payment acceptable by the Court. Make your remittance by MONEY ORDER or CASHIER’S CHECK payable to the Marlin Municipal Court.
- If You Wish To Enter A Plea Of Not Guilty and desire a trial before either the Judge or a Jury, please properly complete the reply form and mail it in before your appearance date. The Court will notify you when you MUST appear for trial and any other required procedures. You must advise the court of any and all address changes.
- Driver’s Safety Course Information: Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may be able to have ONE charge dismissed by taking a driving safety course. HOWEVER, YOU WILL LOSE THE RIGHT IF YOU DO NOT PROVIDE WRITTEN NOTICE TO THE COURT OF YOUR DESIRE TO DO SO AND PAY ALL FEES ON OR BEFORE YOUR APPEARANCE DATE (AS SHOWN ON YOUR CITATION). You cannot have a speeding citation dismissed if it is a violation of 25MPH or more above the posted speed limit or if your speed is 95 mph or more, you are ineligible if you hold a CDL license, or if you have completed a Driver’s Safety Course under this option within the year immediately presiding the date of this citation, you must have a valid Texas driver’s license or permit and show proof of financial responsibility at the time of the citation as required by Section 601.081. If the alleged act was committed while operating a motorcycle, a motorcycle operator training course may be taken as approved by the DPS. If you wish to use this option to have ONE charge dismissed, read and complete the reply form and return it to the Court with the required fee on or before your appearance date. You will have 90 days from the date the Court grants permission for the course, to complete and provide the Court with required documentation showing completion of an approved Driving Safety Course. IF YOU MEET THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS AS STATED ON THE DSC REPLY FORM, THEN YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLETING THE COURSE, REMITTING THE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE TO THE COURT, AND SUBMITTING A CERTIFIED COPY OF YOUR DRIVING RECORD. (Further instructions are on that form.)
- Minors: For alcohol offenses, age 17-20 must appear in court to make a plea and juveniles 16 & under must appear in court with a parent or guardian to make a plea.
- Inability to Pay: If you want the court to consider whether you have the inability to pay your obligation and allow you to discharge your obligation through alternative means such as community service, you must appear for your court date shown on your citation or contact the court to schedule an appearance before the court.
***NOTE: JUVENILES 16 & UNDER MUST APPEAR IN PERSON FOR COURT WITH A PARENT OR GUARDIAN***
*****ASSAULT / FAMILY VIOLENCE CASES MUST APPEAR IN PERSON FOR COURT*****
ADMONISHMENT OF RIGHTS
You, the Defendant, have the right to enter a plea of guilty, not guilty, or nolo contendere (no contest). You have the right to remain silent. You have a right to retain an attorney to represent you. You have the right to a jury trial. You have the right to confront and cross-examine the witnesses against you. If you have insufficient resources or income to pay a fine or costs, you may appear in Court and request the Court to allow you to discharge all or part of my fine or costs by alternative means such as performing community service. If you are not a citizen of the United State of America, a plea of guilty or no contest for the offense charged may result in deportation, the exclusion from admission to this country, or the denial of naturalization under federal law. You have a right to the possession, or notice, of certain evidence upon you request and the right for a record of said possession or notice to be filed with the Court. Until the Judgment of the Court is satisfied in full, you are obligated to notify the Court of any change in your address, telephone number, or other contact information.